MacDonald, Beck make it eight

Publication Date08 July 2021
Date08 July 2021
The trophy is awarded to the overall club champion and is decided from points awarded across ClubSport and Race Championship events each season.

MacDonald recorded success across all disciplines winning both the SSCC Speed Trophy for the Sprint Championship and the Stresscrete 1601cc & over Speed Trophy. He was runner-up in both the Motorkhana Championship and the ClubSport Championship, while in race events he won the Noel McIntyre Trophy for the Race Championship, the Auto Centre Trophy for the 2501cc & over class and finished runner-up in the Flying Farewell Championship.

Andrew Lawrie was runner-up in the overall club championship, a feat he also achieved in the 2017/2018 and 2019/2020 seasons while he also shared runner-up spot with Cameron Morison in 2015/16.

This season, Lawrie won the Keith McFadzien Trophy for the Motorkhana Championship and was third in the Sprint Championship, earning him the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for winning the ClubSport Championship while he also won the Maxis Projects Ltd Trophy for the 1601-2500cc Race Championship.

In doing so, he accumulated enough points to seal the runner-up spot in the club championship.

Rachael Beck won the SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy for the eighth time, while ClubSport competitor James Fitchett won the Ladies Committee Trophy for the Junior Driver of The Year and Chris Buckley, of Arrowtown, won the Maxis Projects Novice Driver Awards.

Josh Cooper took the other ClubSport award on offer, winning the Discount Tyres 0-1600cc Speed Trophy.

In other race awards, Gregory Scott, of Dunedin, won both the Harold Williams Trophy and the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Sports & Racing Car Championship and the Sports & Racing Car Flying Farewell Championship respectively, while Invercargill driver Jordan Michels won the Erskine Flying Farewell Championship.

Jeremy Dawson took the Nebulite Windows & Doors 1301-1600cc class for the seventh time and Todd Blackmun, the Turntru Machining Trophy for the 0-1300cc class for the sixth time.

Husband and wife Alan and Sharon O’Brien received the Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy Distinguished Service Award for their contributions including Alan’s work as a scrutineer for over 40 years, the last 20 as chief scrutineer, while Sharon has helped with administration and, for the past few years, has been in race control helping to run race meetings. The duo also assist several other clubs in the region.

Paul Connell was the recipient of the Mack’s Panel &amp...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT