Two withdraw from mayoral contest

Published date11 August 2022
Publication titleSouthland Express
Incumbent councillors Rebecca Amundsen and Ian Pottinger, who previously announced their intentions to run for the top job, will now just stand for a seat at the council table

Asked if his decision was about the possibility of Sir Tim Shadbolt being re-elected in a split vote scenario, Cr Pottinger said it had nothing to do with the sitting mayor.

In response to the same question, Cr Amundsen said, ‘‘There are a number of possible outcomes that would be detrimental for the city.’’

There are now seven candidates for the Invercargill mayoralty: Sir Tim, deputy mayor Nobby Clark, Cr Darren Ludlow, Bluff Community Board member Noel Peterson, former New Zealand First list MP Ria Bond, former Invercargill deputy mayor Toni Biddle and social media influencer Tom Morton.

Cr Amundsen said her decision to withdraw was not taken lightly.

‘‘Serving my community has always been at the heart of what I do and is what led me to council nine years ago... In light of the growing mayoral candidate pool I have realised that what’s best for the city, and indeed myself, is to not run...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT